Friday, 22 June 2018

ODG081 : Brekekekexkoaxkoax / Collage Works

Cover art by A.L.

ODG081 : Brekekekexkoaxkoax / Collage Works

Second release on Off after the fabulous ' Fuck Yeah There Will Be Lemurs' (see ODG075).

Brekekekexkoaxkoax since 1996 has been a sound project by Austin-based artist Josh Ronsen that moves between instrumental, collaborative improvisations and solo
electro-acoustic compositions. 
Video projections and performance art have also been conducted under this name. 
There is no common thread of reason which links all Brekekekexkoaxkoax events.
Instead, each one opens new methods of creativity, exploring new modes of internal (unconscious?) desire.

This is how Josh describes the three tracks from the album:

“The Erred”

Inspired by the works of the Hafler Trio, in 1996 I set out to create a collage work based on a new way (for me) of organizing sound on a four track recorder. At the end of each recorded sound, a split second decision would be made as to the next sound or method. I tried not to think of how one typically chooses sounds, but rather to grasp at the first thing that came to mind. This is the only time I have ever used this method.

Analog synthesizer, tapes, voice, clarinet, digital synthesizer, prepared guitar, AM radio, electronics, turntable, CD player: Josh Ronsen 
Hungarian radio recordings: Juliette Redl
Text: G.X. Jupitter-Larsen


“I've Forgotten All Your Names”

This collage piece is similar to many of my electro-acoustic works, in that it is a collage of various layers, usually of drones transformed from acoustic instruments, but typically melded in a simmering cauldron of ad-hoc, searching choices. For this piece I knew it was going to be based on recordings of Laura Brackney practicing on gamelan instruments, and recordings made on Alex Keller's
synthesizers. It then becomes a careful weighing of sound qualities
with countless adjustments and further processing to each element; the reverse of a puzzle box where we look for the one way the pieces fit together.

Electronics, modular synthesizer, bass clarinet: Josh Ronsen
Bonangan: Laura Brackney
Modular synthesizer lent by Alex Keller, thank you.


“On Education”

Using mostly stolen samples from musicians around the world, a unified whole was attempted out of specifically Jewish and goyish music. Rarely do I use sampled material, besides spoken text, that is so easily recognizable as to the source.
The use of popular music is also an odd experimentation.

Turntable, CD players, voice, clarinet, electronics: Josh Ronsen


Digital release on the 15th of June 2018.

Track listing:

1: The Erred
2: I've Forgotten All Your Names
3: On Education

Friday, 15 June 2018

OCD040 : Morgen Wurde / Als Je Zuvor

Cover artwork by Lars Julien Meyer

OCD040 : Morgen Wurde / Als Je Zuvor

After Letzten Endes (see OCD027), this is the second release on Off from Morgen Wurde.

"Als je zuvor" is Morgen Wurde's latest electroacoustic opus of free-flowing emotive cinematic grandeur. 
It builds on the compositional approach of his 2015 album "Letzten Ende", which
was about space / doom / jazz music of majestic as well as threatening qualities:
first composing on the piano, then "clothing" these basic versions with organic electronic sounds and the input of long-term collaborators: elysian vocals by Maria Estrella Aggabao and trumpet playing of wondrous versatility by Tetsuroh Konishi (see OJP001OJP002OJP021 and OJP027).

After this conceptual predecessor, there were two Morgen Wurde albums on Time Released
Sound, California: "Brach auf", an album about the dark romanticism of the awe-inspiring forces of nature, and "Assassinous Act", a dark ambient / neo classical / jazz noir soundtrack for a fictitious crime film. These ones were conceptually based on collages of processed samples, in contrast to the more classical approach of "Letzten Endes" and the new album on hand.

Ascending to new expressive peaks, the alliance of acoustic and electronic forces give birth
to iridescent sonic realms, constantly shifting and progressing, feeling its way for deeper truths.

As the richness of this material is also a versatile source for remixes, certain promising producers broadened the experience by their own unique interpretations:
Illuvia is Ludvig Cimbrelius, Sweden's most prolific creator of transcendent electronic music of this decade - for his remix, he revelled in enraptured minimal dub bliss, bringing in acoustic guitar.
Nightkites from Brighton lets blossom one of the tunes into sweet dream pop electronica.

Gate Four from Vancouver brewed a striking dubby, future garage and bass music infused remix.
Brimming techno remixes come from Cie, a veteran of Cologne's electronic music scene, and from Mastrev, a shrewd emerging artist from Berlin.
Finally, Zweig & Pyrococcus from Germany dive into atmospheric drum'n'bass for their sweeping remix.

A nice review in Beach Sloth here :
“Als je zuvor” goes for a freewheeling, celebratory grace, proving Morgen Wurde to have a true ear for melody.

Written and produced by
J. Wolfgang Röttger (1 - 8)
Trumpet lines by Tetsuroh Konishi (1 - 5)
Vocals by Maria Estrella Aggabao (5 - 7)
Remixes by Ludvig Cimbrelius (9),
Nightkites (10), George Tam (11),
Cie (12), Paul Rohwerder (13),
Markus Kalb & Pyrococcus (14)
Artwork by Lars Julien Meyer
Special thanks to Oliver Schmidt

Physical and digital release on the 15th of June 2018.

Track listing:

01 Ermächtigte sich
02 Durchdrungen von
03 Verstehen würde
04 Sehen konnte
05 Beendete es
06 Bewusst wurde
07 Sich löste
08 Werden wollte
09 Sich löste (Illuvia Dubsolution)
10 Beendete es (Nightkites Remix)
11 Bewusst wurde (Gate Four Remix)
12 Beendete es (Cie Remix)
13 Ermächtigte sich (Mastrev Remix)
14 Sehen konnte (Zweig & Pyrococcus Remix)

CD Price:

Friday, 8 June 2018

OUC013 : Quasi Una Fantasia / Live in Saint-Servais Church Brussels

Cover art by A.L.

OUC013 : Quasi Una Fantasia / Live in Saint-Servais Church Brussels

QUASI UNA FANTASIA (see also ODG046) is a duo including La Diva Christina and Pierre-Jean Vranken influenced by the minimalism and by composers such as Feldman and Cage. 

This album shows their ability to take from a small stage to, in this case, a church. 
Pierre-Jean playing the great organ of the church gives their music the 'grand à propos' missing on small places. 
It's grandiose like the voice of La Diva Christina!

Pierre-Jean Vranken in action!

Digital release on the 8th of June 2018.

Track listing:

1: Apatride
2: Look into The Mirror
3: Balthazar
4: Falling Deep
5: Leierman
6: No No
7: Roses