Monday 31 October 2011

OPV006 : Kings of Belgium / Très Fort

Cover art by Kiekebiche

OPV006 : Kings of Belgium / Très Fort

Sixth release in the P.V. Presents Series and second album for Kings Of Belgium, Très Fort is a mixute of atomic jazz-punk-experimental-fusion-trash core music.

The band is again a trio : Pierre Vervloesem ( X-legged Sally, Deus, Flat Earth Society, A Group…) is on bass, guitars and sounds, while Gil Mortio ( Attica, Bruno Vansina…) is on guitars. This time drummer is the formidable virtuoso Swedish Morgan Ägren, from former Mats Morgan Band. He has been a drummer since age four and a Grammy winning musician on both sides of the Atlantic.At age seven he joined forces with ten year old blind keyboardist Mats Öberg in 1981. In 1988, still around their late teens, Morgan and Mats got invited to play with Frank Zappa for a few different projects in the US - just before Zappa passed away.
Morgan has climbed readers polls in various drum- magazines recently. In 2010 he was voted No.1 in Modern Drummers readers poll in the category "fusion".

Morgan has also played with Fleshquartet, Steve Vai, Fredrik Thordendal (of Meshuggah) Spoonman, Glenn Huges, Tony Iommi, Terry Bozzio, Mike Keneally, Denny Walley, Kaipa, Bolon Bata, Dweezil Zappa etc.

The project is based on a free spirited musical approach.
There is no compositions as such, the music is therefore totally spontaneous
which makes it heavy, light, rageous...
depending on the moods explored by the band.
You can compare their way of working with the sound & method of
Meshuggah, John Zorn, Mike Patton, the Residents and Frank Zappa.

The Album was recorded in Morgan’s studio Annanstand near Stockholm on the 16th and 17th of April 2011, then mixed and mastered by Pierre Vervloesem in Brussels.

They intend to play live a lot in 2012 !

Every live performance will be unique and the result will be a new and innovative experience every time...

Physical and digital release on the 30th of November 2011

Track listing :

1. Raz
2. Dangerous Gardening
3. Merry Calculations
4. Les Petits Métiers
5. Living Stone
6. All About Figure Skating
7. Aeolipile
8. Tuskegee Airmen
9. Space Bigotry
10. Ghost Driver
11. Escaped From Nivelles
12. Hua San

Digital bonus tracks:
13. Fukushima Twist
14. Demi Molle de Politesse

Bonus tracks Bandcamp release only:
13. Leftover remix


And on Bandcamp: