Wednesday, 21 August 2019

Two new African and Japanese Spotify playlists!

Two new playlist on Spotify to Enjoy! 

A compilation of some of the best Japanese experimental tracks from the Japanese serie:
24 tracks to discover here:

And a compilation of the Matonge series with 11 tracks to discover here:


Tuesday, 20 August 2019

Autumn is useless video!

First video from the forthcoming album 'Artiste International' from Pierre Vervloesem Feat. the one and only drummer Morgan А̊gren!


Friday, 16 August 2019

ODG111 : Jürgen Augusteyns / Moeilijk

Cover art by Jürgen Augusteyns

ODG111 : Jürgen Augusteyns / Moeilijk

After his ep “Das ewige Ende // Dyptich” (see ODG108), Jürgen Augusteyns returns this time with 5 tracks composed on a Fender Rhodes. 5 crafted minimalist pieces that turn around a journey to the Noord zee / North sea in Belgium. From Bruges to the end of the holidays... A peaceful journey for a late summer afternoon!

As Jürgen defines his music: “Moeilijk” is a collection of 5 improvised pieces on solo electric piano and/or synths. I like to refer to them as “Nederlandstalige instrumentale muziek”.
This EP  contains some of the most personal and vulnerable music I have ever made. This is as “Sturm und Drang” and as sincere as I can get musically.
I hope you enjoy listening to this music as much as I enjoyed playing it."
Available also on a limited edition cassette release through his website here.

Tegen. Zonder tegenzin.
Normloos. Uit noodzaak.
Maar géén rebel noch verzetsstrijder, die doven alleen maar uit.
Mijn stroom strookt niet met de grote vaargeul, want vrijheid zoals alleen kinderen en dieren dat kennen, vind je daar niet.
De haren, met een ferm gebaar tegen de richting in gestreken.
En avant, sans foi, ni loi.
Naar Muriëlle Victorine Scherre

All tracks performed, recorded at home and arranged by Jürgen Augusteyns.
Mastered by Joe Talia.

Digital release on the 16th of August 2019.

Track listing:

1 – Brugse Poort voor dag en dauw
2 – Kamerreizen
3 – Moeilijk
4 – Oorlogsmoeheid (krater)
5 – Het einde van de zomervakantie

Friday, 9 August 2019

ODG110 : Ze Zorgs / Barlok

Cover art by A.L., pic by jj Zorg

ODG110 : Ze Zorgs / Barlok

Another live from Ze Zorgs (se also ODG044 and ODG099) is not simply another live as their performances are always a new journey through post punk, noise, syncopated saxes, kraut rhythms, epileptic guitars, going to the right when you expect them to go to the left! 2 long tracks that will either bring you to an apocalyptic orgasm at the end or make you want to smash your hifi wondering what did happen to you! Either way, enjoy!

Recorded at Bartok on the 27th of April 2019
JJ Zorg Duerinckx: sax baryton
PJ Zorg Vranken: electric guitar
Anatole Zorg Damien: bass
Gaspard Zorg Sickx: drums

Digital release on the 9th of August 2019.

Track listing:

1: Barlok 1 ( 25:25 minutes)
2: Barlok 2 ( 19:40 minutes)

Friday, 2 August 2019

OAS010 : GUIGUISUISUI / Charon (The remixes)

Cover art by Nan Guazi

OAS010 : GUIGUISUISUI / Charon (The remixes)

Second release from this duo based in Beijing (see OAS001).

Charon blends minimal wave synths, trip hop beats, and shoe gaze guitars with samples of traditional Chinese instruments such as the pipa and guzheng, and whispered poetry juxtaposed against Chinese opera vocalisations, all mixing together to create an art rock crossover between East and West, the traditional and the contemporary. Each of the tracks can stand alone or fit together to tell a story with lyrics that reflect upon Chinese mythology relating to the red spider lily, which are described in translations of ancient texts as flowers that grow in hell and guide the souls of the dead along the path to reincarnation. Meanwhile the title of the EP borrows the moniker of the ferryman of hades, who serves a similar purpose in Greek mythology in helping lost souls journey through the afterlife. 

The EP itself came about after Guiguisuisui had been touring their Shining Soundscape show for three months in Europe and China. As a consequence the band chose to create a record that fit this performance: flowing and layered, rooted in traditions but progressive at the same time, and something that could be presented as a story along with live artwork and performance. Created in a matter of weeks, the band chose to self record and produce the EP in an effort to not overthink the pieces, but rather to preserve the raw inspiration and improvisations, evident in not only the music but the visual accompaniment also. 

The remixes of the EP came about as a result of the subsequent Charon tour through China and SE Asia in January/February 2019 in support of the EP. The artists featured are individuals Guiguisuisui met, played with, and collaborated with on their adventures. 

They include:
Lastboss (Zhuhai, China)
Tyz (Beijing, China)
Rudi Botes (Beijing, China)
thruoutin (Beijing, China)
ZAch (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam)
No Shore (Siem Reap, Cambodia)
Ethereal Void (Bangkok, Thailand)
Ninjablade (Tianjin, China)

Vocals by Nan Guazi. 
Guitars, bass, vocals, synths, samples, and programming by Guigui. 
Pipa and guzheng by Gao Haiyan. 

All songs written by Guiguisuisui.
Recorded at Daftpop Studios and Xiao Music Club, Beijing, China. 
Mastered by Brad M.Seippel at Brevity of Motion Sourds, Beijing, China (2019).
Artwork by Nan Guazi.

Silent Fire video:

Digital release on the 2nd of August 2019.

Track listing:

1. The Last Bloom (Lastboss 90's Drummer Remix)
2. Glacier Heart (thruourin Remix)
3. A Thousand Years (Tyz Remix)
4. Glacier Heart (Rudi Botes Remix)
5. Nameless Place (Minimal Zach Remix)
6 .Heavy Eyes (No Shore Remix)
7. Nameless Place (Ninjablade)
8. Glacier Heart (Ethereal Void Remix)

Wednesday, 31 July 2019

OMT006 : Mame Balla / I Wanna Be

Cover art by A.L., image from the clip

OMT006 : Mame Balla / I Wanna Be

First single from the forthcoming album of this Senegal legend, 'I wanna be' sees Mame Balla going for a dance floor hit, singing in English, French and wolof! 

The video:

Digital release on the 31th of July 2019.

Friday, 26 July 2019

OJP037 : ITACHI MODE / Melancholy For 60 Seconds

Cover art by A.L. / pic by Itachi Mode

OJP037 : ITACHI MODE / Melancholy  For 60 Seconds

Hajime Maruyama a.k.a ITACHI MODE is a Japanese musician who started his career as a guitarist in various bands, jumping from rock to fusion to techno or noise. 

After disbanding his own band, he devoted himself in composing only, providing music for typical Idols and singers. 

From 2018, Hajime questioned the current state of the music industry and started pursuing music as an "expression" or "Art", which is not popularized or in vogue in Japan.
He has been influenced regardless of genre by a lot of music, people or graphics looking for a wide range of approaches.
Recently, he has started to try new things and music based on field recordings.

'Melancholia for 60 seconds' shows us his different approaches, trying to give us new emotions though using beats and sounds that reminds certain electronic artists but with a definitely Japanese spirit and even some humour which are his own. 
5 tracks to bring us to another level of thinking, meditating, dancing and being happy.


Digital release on the 26th of July 2019.

Track listing:

1: Melancholy For 60 Seconds
2: Insomnia
3: Gas Burner Won't Light
4: 174 Hz
5: it's Mono A're