Friday 26 February 2021

OVD043 : Pierre Vervloesem / Tâla Shit


Cover art by A.L.

OVD043 : Pierre Vervloesem / Tâla Shit

Once again, Pierre goes for more originality...and an extremely tough exercice! 

This time he has composed 8 tracks based on the Indian tâla.

A tâla literally means a "clap, tapping one's hand on one's arm, a musical measure". It is the term used in Indian classical music to refer to musical meter, that is any rhythmic beat or strike that measures musical time. The measure is typically established by hand clapping, waving, touching fingers on thigh or the other hand, verbally, striking of small cymbals, or a percussion instrument in the Indian subcontinental traditions. Along with raaga which forms the fabric of a melodic structure, the taala forms the life cycle and thereby constitutes one of the two foundational elements of Indian music. 

Each title track is followed by the tâlas number he used to compose the track... 

A crazy exercice but a beautiful result of a mix between Pierre complex music writing and India!

An example of how to count Tala

A good reference for Tāla explanation with lots of different counting here.

Digital release on the 26th of February 2021.

Track listing:

1: Impractical Packaging (13)
2: Desperate Rhythms (11)
3: Stuffed Cabbage (7-5)
4: Constant Pain in the Face (4-5-6-7-7)
5: Dig up Gingerbread (4-3-5-3-5-7)
6: Eel Mucus Under My Shoes (3-4-3-4-5)
7: Danish Giant with Velcro Skin (3-4-4-3-7)
8: Tâla Shit (4-3-4-3-4-2-2-5-7)

And on Bandcamp:

Friday 19 February 2021

OCD049-OUI024 : Machine Mass Sextet / Intrusion

Cover art by Elisabeth Waltregny

OCD049-OUI024 : Machine Mass Sextet / Intrusion

MACHINE MASS started out in 2011 as an idiosyncratic MoonJune power duo made of longtime collaborators American drummer Tony BIANCO (Elton Dean, Paul Dunmall, Evan Parker) and Belgian guitarist Michel DELVILLE (The Wrong Object, Vegir). Hailed as a «  feisty and rebel rousing exhibition that contains a surfeit of diametric contrasts and smoldering exchange » (All About Jazz), it has since then morphed into various forms and ventures involving guests such as Dave LIEBMAN (Inti, 2014) and Univers Zero and Wrong Object keyboardist Antoine GUENET (Machine Mass Plays Hendrix ; 2017). 

Intrusion, Machine Mass’s fourth official album in a decade of existence, is a full-blown sextet extravaganza comprising eight live-in-the-studio tracks (six originals and two covers) featuring Wrong Object bassist Damien CAMPION alongside two seminal members of the Belgian and international jazz scene: Laurent BLONDIAU (Mâäk's Spirit, Andy Emler MegaOctet, Octurn) and Manuel HERMIA (Slang, Orchestra Nazionale della Luna, Hermia-Ceccaldi-Darrifourcq Trio). 
Three years after the psychedelic fireworks of their acclaimed Jimi Hendrix tribute (which Brazilian producer Arnaldo de Souteiro described as « probably the best tribute to Hendrix since the legendary 1974 Gil Evans album ») Machine Mass’s Intrusion offers a set of steaming acoustic jazz laced with moderate yet significant amounts of electric and electronic guitar sounds. The album builds as much on modern-day jazz structures and rhythms as it harks back to the relentless ostinati and horizontal intricacies of modal jazz (the CD opens with John Coltrane’s « Africa » and closes with Joe Zawinul’s « In a Silent Way »). 


Laurent BLONDIAU: trumpet 
Manuel HERMIA: saxophones 
Michel DELVILLE: guitar, Roland GR09 
Antoine GUENET: piano 
Damien CAMPION: double bass 
Tony BIANCO: drums 


An Off Records release powered by MoonJune Records  
All tracks recorded by Maxime Wathieu @ Studio 5, Liège. 
Mixed and mastered by Etienne Plumer 
Band contact :   

Physical and digital release on the 19th of February 2021.
Track listing:

1. Africa (Coltrane) 10:48 
2. Intrusion (Guenet) 14:17 
3. This Is (Bianco, Blondiau, Campion, Delville, Guenet, Hermia) 2:19 
4. Not Another Loud Song (Delville) 9:01 
5. Intro (Campion) 2:12 
6. The Roll (Delville) 9:02 
7. ED (Delville) 6:16 
8. In a Silent Way (Zawinul) 11:14 

Itunes, Spotify, etc:

And on Bandcamp:



Friday 12 February 2021

OJP053 : OMEGA F2;K / Animal Mask OST


OJP053 : OMEGA F2;K / Animal Mask OST

"OMEGA F2;K" is an alternative electric music unit based in Tokyo, Japan. They are influenced by dance music and traditional music from around the world, as well as insignificant and silly pop songs.

They were formed in 2009 by DJ Jun Morita and sound designer Akimasa Yamada, who was previously with “Novo Tempo”. Later, the band performed live with Japanese actor Takeshi Kongochi of the rock band "yes, mama ok?" and Gomax Goda on keyboards.

The band released two songs on Pony Canyon in 2013. A very dubious DVD "The Decline Of The Orgy-Live Recording And Mixed Film 2010-2013" was released in 2015, selling well on the Tokyo underground scene. In 2016, they produced the soundtrack for “Animal mask Lesbian” by female pornographic directer Maboroshiko. In 2017 they released a remix for the rock band “Honeydew".

“Animal Mask OST” is a collection of soundtracks from 2016. Shuffling between TG's "In the Shadow of the Sun" and Jean Rouch's Ethnofiction movie, the music sounds like Jean Rollin eating peanuts. 

In conclusion, Ninjas survive. 
In a dream they walk by your side.

Digital release on the 12th of February 2021.

Track listing:

1: Prelude to Kawaii
2: Awesome Animals
3: Hypermetamorphosis
4: Banzai Living Creatures
5: Pet Food of the Waffle House
6: Hunting Tour
7: Bitch
8: Possession
9: The Curse of the Gagaku Mask
10: Secrets Exposed
11: Raptures Over

And on Bandcamp: 

Tuesday 9 February 2021

OJP054 : Toshinori Kondo / Move Not Move - The Silent Melodies 15th Anniversary Reissue


Cover art by Kiekebiche

OJP054 : Toshinori Kondo / Move Not Move - The Silent Melodies 15th Anniversary Reissue

Originally recorded in 2006 and released in 2007, Silent melodies from Japanese trumpet player Toshinori Kondo still shine 15 years later. 

Unfortunately, Kondo San left us in the end of 2020 and The Silent Melodies will last forever to remind us how a beautiful and avant-garde trumpet player he was.

He developed a unique style mixing electronics with his acoustic trumpet, playing usually in bands or as guest. 

The Silent Melodies are Toshinori San in solo with only his instrument and nothing else and no one else. No synths, no beats but the man and his magic trumpet! Enjoy!

Kondo San in action

Digital reissue on the 9th of February 2021.

Track listing:

1. Clear Water
2. Gone Dream-1
3. Gone Dream-2
4. Resonant Space
5. Mountain Shadow
6. Song for the Small Planet
7. Sky Cry
8. Moon Cloud
9. Wind Temptation
10.Stars Night
11.Melting Stone
12.First Light

And on Bandcamp:

CD here:

Friday 5 February 2021

OUC030 : WHALTHISNEY / Thisequilibria

Cover art by WALTHISNEY

OUC030 : WHALTHISNEY / Thisequilibria

Another album by WHALTHISNEY (see also OUC018 and ODG134searching for the perfect approach of using the piano in a very distant way, interfering with some touches of electronics... 

The music is a constant flow that lifts you in another world, a kind of limbo where you float indefinitely...

No more words needed, just drown yourself in his music! Enjoy!

Digital release on the 5th of February2021.

Track listing:

1: All Is Nothing
2: False Hopes
3: Fluidity
4: Silent Emptiness
5: Within the Flux

And on Bandcamp: