Thursday 11 April 2013

ODG010 : The Zoo Wheel / Ear Falls

Covert art by Kiekebiche

ODG010 : The Zoo Wheel / Ear Falls

This is the new Ep/mini album from Liz Payne and her solo project called The Zoo Wheel.
Charles Rumback (see also OCD005OCD009ODG009) is drumming on it. They first met playing music together as the rhythm section in Via Tania. Tania Bowers ( ) is adding extra vocals while Josh Berman is playing cornet on it ( ).
All songs were written, performed and recorded at home and outside by Liz Payne in 2010.
The drums were recorded by Brian Bullard  who also did the mix and the mastering at Spank Music, in Chicago.

What Liz says about the project:
"Ear Falls is a collection of songs long in the making, and long in the aging. It was completed in 2010 after a period in which it suffered a few lengthy interruptions. As a result of this, many songs for the collection were created and subsequently scrapped, and for the songs that survived, many versions were created. For this collection I was trying to make songs which held a place for me; a figurative place in memory, and a literal marker of place by the use of my field recordings. Over the years many places and events came and disappeared; these songs stand for the places that stayed with me."  
                                                           Charles and Liz

Liz Payne is a bass and guitar player and is most renowned for her tallented playing with those bands:
Everyoned, Joan Of Arc, Lake Wandawega Resort Band, Pillow, Town And Country 

Here under a nice small video of Liz performing a version of High Honies, one of the track on the Ep.

This is a digital only release. It will be out on the 6th of May 2013

Track listing:

1: Meantime Tenderness     3:21
Drums – Charles Rumback
Fields – bell miner, Australia; train, Wisconsin; ice on window, Chicago

2: High Honies              7:14
Drums – Charles Rumback
Cornet tones – Josh Berman
Fields – crickets and boot, Wisconsin; skate park, Australia; katydids, North Carolina; bells, Australia

3:  Certain Illogical Remix          2:49
Fields – bell miner, Australia; ice on window, Chicago

4:    Tzero (For Diane)        6:42
Drums – Charles Rumback
Cornet tones – Josh Berman
Extra vocals – Tania Bowers

5: The Old Adage is True (For Dad)     2:24
Drums – Charles Rumback
Extra vocals – Tania Bowers

And on Bandcamp:

ODG009 : Meyer -Trim - Rumback / Look At Me, So I Can Get Close To You

ODG009 :  Meyer - Trim - Rumback / Look At Me, So I Can Get Close to You

Charles Rumback is best known to you and Off with the releases of the two fantastic albums from Colorlist ( see also OCD005OCD009 and ODG010).
In the beginning of 2013, beeing already busy playing with various bands, Andrew Trim started a new trio. 
This is what Charles says about it: " It is a trio consisting of Danny Meyer (tenor saxophone), Andrew Trim (guitar) and myself on drums...
The project happened because Danny and Andrew are old friends from Colorado. Andrew is living in Chicago now, and Danny in New York. But when Danny came through, they scheduled a recording session and asked me to play on it. I didn't quite know what to expect, but the music came out beautifully I think. So we've made a record out of it, and did 5 shows together... 3 in Chicago and 2 in Milwaukee. The music just happened naturally with no rehearsing. It just felt like we had played together for years. We're planning on keeping the group going and hopefully recording again later this year."
And this what Andrew says:
"Broadly, the record is the culmination of two individual musical relationships that I developed over the years - the first with Danny in Colorado and later with Charles in Chicago.
More directly, the record is our collective exploration of the immediacy of musical communication without rehearsal. Our goal in recording together was to cultivate our deep appreciation for strong melody, subtle textures, taking chances, all the while continuing our search for truth in the creative process.
All of the music by our slightly unconventional trio was recorded live with no overdubs by our friend and engineer Brian Sulpizio in one short session. The session began with our interpretations of six compositions by Danny and myself and concluded with the trio freely improvising pieces of various lengths.
To our surprise, our NYC based collaborator, Minor Ninths, asked if he could remix the title track upon hearing the record for the first time. The result was so cool that we asked to include it as a bonus track on the release. Glad we said yes.
We hope you enjoy the record!"

Here are some links to their individual websites: 

Digital only release on the 10th of May 2013

The latest video of them performing Realm Devil:

Track listing:

1. What a Perfect Day to Smile
2. Children
3. Look At Me, So I Can Get Close to You
4. Realm Devil
5. Grown
6. A Bag in the Wind
7. Fines
8. Nimo
9. Alone, Waiting in Line
10. Orchid
11. Thom Told Them to Take the Train There
12. Boulder Goose
13. Look At Me, So I Can Get Close to You (Minor Ninths remix)

And on Bandcamp: