Wednesday 30 October 2013

ODG018 : Baja / V

ODG018 : Baja / V

In 2007, I received a cd-r with amazing music which became the first album released by Baja ( SCD007 ). A short review at the time said:
"It's not that Maps/Systemalheur resists being brainy. It's just that the intellectualism at work in Baja's music is located in the listening, detected in the way it emotes intelligently rather than intelligently references emotion. By making process and reward one in the same, mirroring the obstinacy and arbitrary nature of human emotions, Vujanic is using electronic music in a way that makes it less a statement about media or a contemporary discussion about subverting conventional songwriting than a tool of matter-of-factness; Vujanic is a Apollonian fully aware of the necessity of his Dionesian counterpart, returning us to a more fundamental discussion about how words may never encapsulate what it is we want to say, or how music makes us feel." From

Now, after four acclaimed releases on different labels ( discography ) and four years in the making, Daniel Vujanic presents the final, ultimate and definitely last Baja album called V. It is finally time to move on to different regions of sound.
V is focusing on melody, musicianship, dynamics and atmosphere rather than on the display of postproduction wizardry or editing abilities. The 10 new compositions feature a warm and quite intimate pop-feel as well as the notorious jazz/ambient/folk/electronica  infested prog-post-rock, teaming up in order to create a kaleidoscopic, playful and at times even anthemic album full of surprises which surely acts as an epitaph as well as a shining pinnacle in vujanic´s work as Baja.
Featuring Daniel Kartmann (drums, vibes), Heiner Stilz (woodwinds), Berna Walter (strings) and Niels Roskamp (drums), some of the songs could even give you the feeling of listening to a jam between XTC and The Sea and Cake.
It's a must!

Digital only release on the 3th of November 2013.

Track listing:

1) Arataxia
2) Tourist Damages
3) Double Betrayal Triple Fantasy
4) Echelon
5) With Animal Eyes
6) Motten Dub
7) The Future Ruins
8) Phosphoraneum
9) All We Need Is A Fire
10) Xlavis

Other praises for Baja:
“Baja operates under the maxim that modern digital music is simply an aural Cuisinart, capable of blending anything and everything into anything and everything, reshaping genre into whatever is physically possible.“ -Squid’s Ear
"Vujanic is making music for the Shuffle generation, positing endless subdivisions that thus, beautifully, enable the listener to consider the music in almost anything" Cokemachine Glow
"Vujanic is a one man musical army" Sound The Siren
"Baja's Daniel Vujanic is a prolific, thoughtful artist with very strong opinions about the value of craftsmanship and intentionality" Tiny Mixtapes

                                                               Pic. by Svenja Eckert

Monday 21 October 2013

ODG017 : Radiobugs / Radio Bugs

Cover art by Kiekebiche

ODG017 : Radiobugs / Radio Bugs

Another unreleased album by maestro Daniel Vujanic ( Bio , Baja , ODG001 , ODG015 , ODG016 ) now on Off! Is it hip-hop, Jazz, electro or experimental rap? It is now up to you to discover this jewel of uplifting and typically Daniel's music, though probably he seems to have had a good laugh recording it!

This is what Daniel has to say about this project:

" It started as an ongoing recording project/duo a couple of years ago.  It focuses on beat science, hip hop and cut-up aesthetics as well as moody interludes and dadaistic aspects of language. The album is an electroacoustic narrative featuring vocals courtesy of Emerald Nutz, a boston based mc who delivers a bouquet of intertwined storythreads, drugged nostalgia and sketchbook poetry. Enjoy!"

Digital release only on the 21th of October 2013.

Track listing:

1) Radiobugs 
2) Nomo ( half vocal)
3) Early Morning ( langeversion)
4) Hot Blood
5) Filoma
6) Radiobugdub
7) Spycam Chronicles
8) Water Threads
9) Fluffertape Girls
10) Sensorico
11) Swinging Apocalypso
12) Chrome
13) The Drunk Lovers ( vocalmix)
14) Night Train Theme
15) Golem Aerobics
16) Feed On Morning Rain

Sunday 6 October 2013

Spotify & Deezer

Dear all, I wrote it last year, listening to Spotify and Deezer do not pay the Artists! Each title needs 500 streamings to bring 0,30€ to the Artist! So one more time, if you like one song or a full album, the prices on Off beeing so ridiculous, please download it once for all! It's really nice to have more than 3/400 streamings each day, but it doesn't pay the musicians...
Here is what Tom Yorke has to say on the subject:

"The last desperate fart of a dying corpse"

ODG016 : The Camping Group / Vertrauen & Wohlstand

Art cover  by Kiekebiche

ODG016: The Camping Group / Vertrauen & Wohlstand

After the digital release of their first album ( see here ), here is finally the chance to discover the never released second album from The Camping Group!
Always reuniting rock-pop-electro and krautrock, Daniel Vujanic and Johannes Finke explore deeper their association: it's a hit!

Digital only release on the 14th of October 2013.

Track listing:

1) König
2) Die Neuen Gesetze
3) Schwerer Elefant
4) Wo Ist Heaven?
5) Woodstock
6) Immer Noch
7) Der Vollständigkeit Halber
8) Seemannslied
9) Fantasy Filmfest Girls
10) Party In den Dünen
11) Von Drei Mal Rot Zur Methode
12) Triumph Ist Trumpt
13) Was Macht
14) Du Bist Nur Ein Instrument
15) Trabanten Dub
16) Das Beben ( Treptow Zeitloch)