Thursday 30 August 2018

OAR002 : Olrik - Lew (Alinovsky - Benjamin Lew) / Orient et Mécaniques

Cover art by Benjamin Lew

OAR002 : Olrik - Lew (Alinovsky - Benjamin Lew) / Orient et Mécaniques

This was originally released on cassette (50 pieces) on Digital Records as Digital 005 in January 1982. 

It was recorded live on the 27/12/81 with one mini mike inside a very old detuned piano in a then very popular bar called 'La Papaye' while waiting for the opening. 

Benjamin Lew (see ODG004ODG059discography) was then the barman of the place while Alinovsky (Olrik, ODG004ODG059discography) was the Dj. 
They recorded the album in less than one hour, the time the cassette stopped.
All tracks were completely improvised with Benjamin taking the left part of the keyboard while Alinovsky took the right. 
The tape had originally 6 titles though they are 9 tracks on it... 

The title of the album was chosen when opening the Belgian phone's white pages and pointing randomly at a name. In this case 'Orient et Mécanique' being a garage's name. 

The sound has been cut into tracks now instead of 2x15 minutes sides, cleaned and re mastered by Pierre Vervloesem.

The original outside and inside of the tape:

Digital release on the 31st of August 2018.

Track listing:

1: Morto nel fiune
2: Fausse aveugle 1
3: Fausse aveugle 2
4: Turkish and American Blend
5: Amphisbène 1
6: Amphisbène 2
7: Broken phone booths 1
8: Broken phone booths 2
9: Kailua

Bandcamp only release:

Friday 24 August 2018

OCD039 : Ben Sluijs Quartet / Particles

Cover art by Laurie Van Elsacker

OCD039: Ben Sluijs Quartet / Particles (feat. Ben Sluijs, Bram De Looze, Lennart Heyndels, Dre Pallemaerts)

Ben Sluijs (se also ODG086 and his extensive discography and bio here) is undoubtedly one of the most lyrical and poetic jazz saxophonists of our country. 

'Voilà un album riche et passionnant. Ben Sluijs en a écrit les huit morceaux et cela procure une identité forte à l’ensemble, même si les influences sont diverses et si les traitements sont diversifiés. Le chic de Ben Sluijs, c’est de s’entourer d’excellents musiciens qui peuvent à la fois se fondre dans un ensemble et profiter des espaces de liberté pour imposer leur personnalité. Et comme Ben en a une fameuse aussi, l’album possède une tension du plus bel effet et délivre une musique honnête, intime et même fragile à certains moments' JEAN-CLAUDE VANTROYEN - Le Soir

The artist can claim a solid experience at the head of different quartets. At the 2016 edition of the Jazz Middelheim festival, he created the surprise by performing with his new quartet, the Ben Sluijs Quartet, alongside drummer Dre Pallemaerts (website) as well as the two outstanding young talents Bram De Looze (website) and Lennart Heyndels (website). 

This album, recorded in 2018, shows their art of performing at their best. Long compositions that evolve from quiet moments to enthusiastic solo and powerful playing.

Take your time to listen peacefully and to discover the various Particles of the album! Enjoy!

From left to right : Lennart, Be, Bram and Dre - pic by Cees van de Ven

Teaser for the album:

'Particles' live at Flagey:

And very nice video of the Quartet live at Middleheim 2018 here!

“ 'Particles' is a perfectly balanced Album. A fragile, intimate and personal album in which every group member flowers. The music feels strongly as a heart-warming and extreme engagement for authenticity. Those who are looking for an incredibly fine jazz album to immerse themselves completely as listeners, know what to do. Great class of Ben Sluijs & co ". (Written in Music-Ph De Cleen-5-10-2018).

And a very long review in French in JazzAround Magazine here and in English in Salt-Peanuts here

Physical and digital release on the 24th of August 2018.

Track listing:

1: Particles
2: Song For Yusef
3: Miles Behind
4: Air Castels
5: Cell Mates
6: Mali
7: Jemima
8: Ice Chrystal


Friday 17 August 2018

OAR001: Instead Of / Jungle Journeys In Sarawak - People & Penguins from the faraway Falklands:

Cover art by Stephan Barbery

OAR001: Instead Of / Jungle Journeys In Sarawak - People & Penguins from the faraway Falklands: 

The new 'Archive' series is based on K7 tapes that were released between 1979 and 1985. They come mostly from the Camera Obscura collection (see complete discography here), a label created by Stephan Barbery then guitarist of the defunct Belgian band Digital Dance. Some are from various personal collections. When possible, the original sound will be remastered by Pierre Vervloesem.
All the releases will be available only through Bandcamp except this one.

First release is the amazing K7 from Instead Of.
Instead Of was founded in 1982 by Stephan Barbery and Tvic, then respectively guitarist and bassist of Digital Dance (see bio ans discography), as a platform to try other musical experimentations. They released 2 cassettes and this is their third release, only this time as a trio with the addition of Robert Leff (also from Digital Dance) on drums, TR 606 and casio. 

The album was recorded live in a garage in one afternoon of 1983 and was completely improvised. The recording was done then with very little, a cassette recorder in the middle of the room. 2 more tracks recorded at home on a 4 tracks cassette were added later. The whole stuff was then mixed with a few guitars overdubs by Stephan who added vocals as well. 

Instead Of music is a mix of post-punk, heavy dub, avant jazz and experimental!

It was then released on 50 K7 on the Digital Dance label ' Digital records' under the number K006. 

It has been remastered by Pierre Vervloesem.

Original cover and booklet:

Digital release on the 17th of August 2018.

Track listing:

1: Faraway Falkland
2: Jungle's hard monster
3: Jungle journey in Sarawak
4: Only penguins
5: People & penguins
6: Special dub version
7: Special journey in Sarawak

In Bandcamp:

And in the usual digital platforms:

Thursday 9 August 2018

OJP033 : Ryoko Aomasa / Blue Summer (Lost at the Bottom of the Sea)

Cover art by A.L.

OJP033 : Ryoko Aomasa / Blue Summer (Lost at the Bottom of the Sea)

A summer single from Ryoko Aomasa (see OJP024 and OJP025) ! 

As explained by Ryoko: "Blue has two meanings, one is for a summer Blue, Blue sky and Blue sea. The joy of life and the glow of the sun. Another is for the melancholy Blue, Blue mood. 'Lost at the Bottom of the Sea' is something like sleeping or taking a retreat about lost things"...

Main piano by Ryoko, added sounds by Alinovsky, effects/mixing and mastering by Pierre Vervloesem.

Digital release on the 10th of August 2018.

Track listing:

1: Blue Summer (Lost at the Bottom of the Sea)
2: Blue Summer - Bottom of the Sea Alinovsky remix (Bandcamp only bonus)

And on Bandcamp: