Friday 25 January 2019

OCD041 : The Gödel Codex / Oak

Cover art, pic by Etienne Plummer

OCD041 : The Gödel Codex / Oak

Etienne PLUMER (Rêve d’Elephant, Animus Anima), Michel DELVILLE (The Wrong Object, Machine Mass, Comicoperando, website) and Antoine GUENET (Univers Zero, The Wrong Object, Beautiful Badness) join forces with Christophe BAILLEAU, a sound artist with an interest in the function of noise as a musical code in music.

Born out of an attempt to combine and weave together jazz, post-rock and electroacoustic models, their music draws inspiration as much from Jim O'Rourke's minimalism as from the techno-romantic landscapes of Christian Fennesz and David Sylvian. 
Some astute listeners have also noticed similarities with avant-pop mavericks Robert Wyatt, Thom Yorke and Damon Albarn.

Be that as it may, most of the members of The Gödel Codex have a background in jazz and believe improvisation is a vital part of pop song structure. Warming to Ornette Coleman’s contention that “composing is a way not repeating”, The Gödel Codex also subscribes to Derek Bailey’s famous statement that “improvisation is not knowing what is it until you do it” and that “composition is not doing it until you know what it is”.

Combining live performances with video projections, live versions of Oak continue to explore the gray areas between composition and improvisation, using both approaches in tandem across a broad spectrum of musical idioms.

Michel DELVILLE : guitar, Roland GR09, loops, electronics, glockenspiel, lead vocals on 2, 3, 4, 7 
Antoine GUENET : keyboards, synth, acoustic piano, electronics, backing vocals, lead vocals on 6, 8
Etienne PLUMER : drums, e-percussion, trumpet, glockespiel, electronics, samples
Christophe BAILLEAU : electronics on 1, 3, 5 and 10
All tracks recorded by Etienne Plumer @ Sascha Production except for tracks 5 and 9 recorded live at CC Amay. Mixed and mastered by Etienne Plumer. 

Great review in The Progressive here and from Lee Henderson (USA):

"This is a major masterpiece that any fan of Canterbury of the more co-mingled kind will fall over for. BRAWNY AND BRILLIANT!
This entire project is a sympathetic romp through swirling ever so extraordinary fields of keepsake Canterbury frolic, ample excursions of oddity, equal spoonfuls of quirky and electronic diversion, and just the right interface of pondering Robert Wyatt world vocal pieces. With your equilibrium adjusted, the courteous tracks escort you through a prodigal liberation for aspiration."

Physical and digital release on the 25th of January 2019.
Track listing:
1. Oak - overture (Plumer) 1:43
2. The Needle’s Eye (Delville) 2:32
3. Granules (Bailleau/Delville/Guenet/Plumer) 6:56
4. One Last Sound (Delville) 4:58
5. Matisse (Bailleau/Delville/Guenet/Plumer) 4:02
6. Stand or Fall (Delville) 3:54
7. Bells (Delville) 3:48
8. Can It Be (Guenet) 5:30
9. Oak - live reprise (Plumer) 4:18
10. Lux 4 (Bailleau/Franck) 5:52

for the cd:

Tuesday 22 January 2019

OUC016 : Manel Gaiato / Traces

Cover art by Carlos Meinedo (site)

OUC016 : Manel Gaiato / Traces

"Traces reflects several lines of thought. An inner reaction to an external stimulus.
It is an unpretentious exploration of Sound towards the discovery of a musical language."

"Manel Gaiato" is Bruno Ferreira (site), a Portuguese multi-instrumentalist, composer, arranger and producer, born in Porto, Portugal who grew up surrounded by sound and music.

He composes for various musical projects, audio installations, ballets, string quartets  and films, such as the documentary "3 Hours to Love," directed by Patricia Nogueira and winner 1st Prize "PrimeirOlhar Ibertelco 2013”.

He was one of the nominees for the “SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International”, at Gent Film Festival (2018).


Digital release on the 23th of January 2019.

Track listing:

1: Intro
2: Androgyny
3: Dual
4: Devil's Mountain
5: Narcissus
6: I See You In Slow Motion
7: Trigger
8: Interferences
9: Improvisation

And in Bandcamp:

Thursday 10 January 2019

OJP034 : Ai Kisaragi - Tetsuroh Konishi / Atmosphere

Cover art by Ai Kisaragi

OJP034 : Ai Kisaragi - Tetsuroh Konishi / Atmosphere

Second album from Ai Kisaragi and Tetsuroh Konishi (see OJP021), this time less rhythmic and more introspectif! 
The theremin of Ai takes more room and give the atmosphere which gives the title of the album! 
To listen peacefully in the early delight or late at night!



Ai Kisaragi : Theremin Aeolian Harp Alto Recorder
Tetsuroh Konishi : Trumpet  E.Guitar  Alto Recorder

Recording and Mix Mastering at Nakiri Kisaragi House
Artwork by Ai Kisaragi  Special Thanks to Ni·Ho·Hi

Digital release on the 11th of January 2019.

Track listing:

1. Aberrations
2. Tri
3. Atmosphere 1
4. Atmosphere 2
5. Atmosphere 3
6. Dualism
7. Interference

And on Bandcamp:

Friday 4 January 2019

ODG095 : Ben Sluijs - Erik Vermeulen / Stones

Cover pic by Jacky Lepage

ODG095 : Ben Sluijs - Erik Vermeulen / Stones

Originally released in 2001, this album Stones, which is a short story by writer, Emile Clemens, artfully set to music by alto saxophonist, Ben Sluijs (site) and pianist, Erik Vermeulen (bio).

Perhaps lesser known on our American shores, these musicians' sport relatively impressive resumes, performing with a variety of Euro-Jazz and multinational artists. Otherwise, Sluijs composed the majority of these pieces as the duo embarks upon an audibly scenic journey consisting of quaintly organized fabrics. Essentially, the artists' display a prodigious flair for melody throughout these ten works, as they project an atmospheric program brimming with lush phraseology, memorable themes and softly stated lyricism.

Erik and Ben

Sluijs' breezy lines rekindles notions of the late Paul Desmond's 'dry martini' sound, whereas Vermeulen possesses a delicate touch as the duo's refined elegance comes to the forefront. However, the men also turn the proceedings up a notch or two during some heated exchanges, although intriguingly melodic pieces such as, 'Still' and others sum up what this very attractive outing is all about.

All compositions by Ben Sluijs except Dialogue and Behind the Poet, the intro and the final, are improvisations by Ben Sluijs and Erik Vermeulen. Gargoyles by Erik Vermeulen.
Recorded at Erik's place and mixed by Dré Pallemaerts in 2001.

Originally released on Jazz'Halo as TS010, then re released on W.E.R.F. records as 081.

Press:  English: CadenceAll about Jazz
             Dutch: De MorgenJazzmozaïekKnack
             French: Jazzman

Digital release (courtesy W.E.R.F.) on the 4th of January 2019.

Track listing:

1: Dialogue
2: Mother of Pearl
3: Still
4: Sea Prisoners
5: Wall
6: Stones
7: Gargoyles
8: Minor Problems
9: Glow
10: Behind the Poet