Wednesday, 30 October 2013

ODG018 : Baja / V

ODG018 : Baja / V

In 2007, I received a cd-r with amazing music which became the first album released by Baja ( SCD007 ). A short review at the time said:
"It's not that Maps/Systemalheur resists being brainy. It's just that the intellectualism at work in Baja's music is located in the listening, detected in the way it emotes intelligently rather than intelligently references emotion. By making process and reward one in the same, mirroring the obstinacy and arbitrary nature of human emotions, Vujanic is using electronic music in a way that makes it less a statement about media or a contemporary discussion about subverting conventional songwriting than a tool of matter-of-factness; Vujanic is a Apollonian fully aware of the necessity of his Dionesian counterpart, returning us to a more fundamental discussion about how words may never encapsulate what it is we want to say, or how music makes us feel." From

Now, after four acclaimed releases on different labels ( discography ) and four years in the making, Daniel Vujanic presents the final, ultimate and definitely last Baja album called V. It is finally time to move on to different regions of sound.
V is focusing on melody, musicianship, dynamics and atmosphere rather than on the display of postproduction wizardry or editing abilities. The 10 new compositions feature a warm and quite intimate pop-feel as well as the notorious jazz/ambient/folk/electronica  infested prog-post-rock, teaming up in order to create a kaleidoscopic, playful and at times even anthemic album full of surprises which surely acts as an epitaph as well as a shining pinnacle in vujanic´s work as Baja.
Featuring Daniel Kartmann (drums, vibes), Heiner Stilz (woodwinds), Berna Walter (strings) and Niels Roskamp (drums), some of the songs could even give you the feeling of listening to a jam between XTC and The Sea and Cake.
It's a must!

Digital only release on the 3th of November 2013.

Track listing:

1) Arataxia
2) Tourist Damages
3) Double Betrayal Triple Fantasy
4) Echelon
5) With Animal Eyes
6) Motten Dub
7) The Future Ruins
8) Phosphoraneum
9) All We Need Is A Fire
10) Xlavis

Other praises for Baja:
“Baja operates under the maxim that modern digital music is simply an aural Cuisinart, capable of blending anything and everything into anything and everything, reshaping genre into whatever is physically possible.“ -Squid’s Ear
"Vujanic is making music for the Shuffle generation, positing endless subdivisions that thus, beautifully, enable the listener to consider the music in almost anything" Cokemachine Glow
"Vujanic is a one man musical army" Sound The Siren
"Baja's Daniel Vujanic is a prolific, thoughtful artist with very strong opinions about the value of craftsmanship and intentionality" Tiny Mixtapes

                                                               Pic. by Svenja Eckert

No comments: