Wednesday, 24 May 2017

ODG067 : Blaine L. Reininger / Glossolalia + 10th Anniversary Release Bonus Tracks

ODG067 : Blaine L. Reininger / Glossolalia + 10th Anniversary Release Bonus Tracks

The 25th of May 2007 saw the first release on Off, the magnificent solo album from Blaine L; Reininger 'Glossolalia' (see OCD001)!
There is no better time than re releasing it digitally 10 years later with 5 extra bonus tracks not originally on the album.

Glossolalia was the first solo album of Blaine since 1999, and probably his best ever at the time!
You just had to close your eyes and starts travelling through old black and white Italian and Greek movies from the 60ties, or cross the ocean and feel again the colors and the heat from Mexico !
Glossololia is a mixture of all the places and people that Blaine encountered in the last 10 years before recording it. 
An album full of poetry, faith in the world and a musical journey!

Blaine L. Reininger is an American composer and performer born in 1953 in Pueblo, Colorado. In 1977 he started the legendary American cult band Tuxedomoon together with Steven Brown in San Francisco.
Over the course of the next 26 years, many artistic collaborations took place and many cd’s were recorded. These collaborations, while mostly musical in nature, often moved into other fields such as dance, theatre, and film.
Since  1998, he lives in Athens Greece.

glos·so·la·li·a   from Gk. glossa "tongue, language" + lalia "a speaking," from lalein "to speak, prattle," of echoic origin
1.  Fabricated and nonmeaningful speech, especially such speech associated with a trance state or certain schizophrenic syndromes.
2.  the gift of tongues

Blaine L. Reininger website:

'Throatsinging' video by Blaine himself:

and one for 'Ici Salvador Dali':

Digital only release on the 26th of May 2017.

Track listing:

1: Throatsinging
2: Glossolalia
3: No Need to Move the Camera
4: Lemonaki
5: Ici Salvador Dali
6: Hank and Audrey
7: Lunar Rose Oubliette
8: Cowboy Elektra
9: Drippy
10: Dance in Your Blood
11: Ich will Musik
12: Look like a Rube

13: Feel Like I'm on Drugs - 10th Anniversary Release Bonus Track
14: Moozeek Poo Einai      - 10th Anniversary Release Bonus Track
15: Drip Drip Drip               - 10th Anniversary Release Bonus Track
16: Arpy Arpy                     - 10th Anniversary Release Bonus Track
17: Corngrind                     - 10th Anniversary Release Bonus Track

You can still buy the original cd here: 
there is a special anniversary price of 15€ when buying 2 cds from the Off catalogue. 
See the shop page HERE!


No comments: