Friday, 30 August 2019

ODG103 : Ben Sluijs Quartet / Flying Circles

ODG103 : Ben Sluijs Quartet / Flying Circles

Another reissue from the Ben Sluijs Quartet ( see also OCD039ODG086 and ODG095) originally released in 2002 on the W.E.R.F. label, Seasounds was recorded at Jet Studio - Brussels.. 

"This is already the third album for WERF with the same quartet and the sixth in the series "finest in Belgian Jazz" that the cultural center of Bruges publishes on the occasion of "Bruges 2002". This is to say if Ben Sluijs and his companions are appreciated by amateurs and critics. The Antwerp artist took special care to design this album, which probably foreshadowed a turning point in his career towards freer forms and spontaneous creations in duo or trio (first part of "Flying Circle"). poems on "Stones" and some tests of the deceased "Travers" we had let him feel.
In the virtuosities he developed extensively when playing hard-bop, Ben prefers today a research on the sounds (breath control in the beak on the melancholic and black "Medieval") and introspection by harmony who pay a tribute to the European classics of the past century as Scriabin. The game of the violist remains a patchwork of plays (Coltrane on the occasion of the first solo on "Exactly what I do not mean", Monk for the writing of "Mouth Peace" and the approach of Erik Vermeulen at the piano) but today it transpires with a good assurance, a beautiful tranquility ("Xzen"). Piet Verbiest (b) provides a rigorous accompaniment of classicism whereas Eric Thielemans drives in the contemporary way, close to the cutting of the melodies, light on the skins and the cymbals.
The short and exotic "Second Flight" reminds me of Yussef Lateef's "Sounds of Nature".
Ben offers on this piece a beautiful flute sound with a passage in scales that he may have borrowed from the finals of Jacqus Pelzer on the "Theme for Freddie".
A very good record of a mature artist."  Jean-Marie Hacquier

Originally released as W.E.R.F. 034.

Digital release on the 30th of August 2019.

Track listing:

1: All One Song
2: Medieval
3: Flying Circles
4: Mouth Piece
5: Naomi
6: Exactly What I Don't Mean
7: Xzen
8: Second Flight

And on Bandcamp:

No comments: