Friday 1 February 2019

ODG094 : Out of Tune Wolf / Cognizant

Cover art by Nathan Tersteeg

ODG094 : Out of Tune Wolf / Cognizant

Cognizant is a conceptual sonic experience much like a lucid dream connecting similar and
unrelated elements in a linear motion. Arise from an ambient surface, grasping on to familiar
sounds to echolocate yourself, only to find you are lost in an unfamiliar territory. 
The audience is meant to travel along with each track, metaphorically or physically finding their place inside of the journey. By the end of the album hopefully cognizance is discovered in beautiful melodies and jaring textural chaos.

"The album is a collection of musical and soundscape compositions utilising instrumentation, lo-fi and high quality samples. I focus on the imperfections of recordings as much as the crafted rhythms and melodies. Samples are collected from various methods using equipment not always practical or purposeful. I think of sound as a material to be manipulated painstakingly and appreciated in its rudimentary recorded form."

Out of Tune Wolf is Josh Rodenberg, who is a sound artist living in Richmond Virginia in the
United States. He spends his most of his days dreaming while juggling his time being a spouse, a father, a studio artist, a skateboarder and his career at the university. He does the best he can.


 Performing live

Digital release on the 1st of February 2019.

Track Listing:

1: Built a City
2: JK
3: Craft a Bath
4: Waiting
5: A Drift Has Come
6: Confusedd
7: Piano and the Pond
8: Drone
9: Passing Through
10: Top on Top
11: Connection
12: Destroy
13: Structure
14: More Questions
15: July But June

And on Bandcamp:

No comments: